Additional Pressurized Line?

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by jeffinsgf, Mar 14, 2008.

1. jeffinsgf

jeffinsgf LawnSite Senior Member

I guess I should have asked this question before I remodeled my system, but it occurred to me as I was gluing up the last few joints.

I added about 350 feet of pressurized main line to my existing system, which was working nicely. Will the additional pressurized line have any effect on the overall operation of the system? It would seem to me that it would not have any effect, but I'm not a hydraulic engineer...heck I'm not even an irritator.

Have I screwed up or am I creating a problem in my mind that doesn't really exist? I'm going to open up the system, flush the lines and test everything tomorrow, but I thought I would give you all a chance to tell me what I might expect.

2. Dirty Water

Dirty Water LawnSite Fanatic

Think of it this way, by adding mainline you have potentially lengthened the amount of pipe that water must travel through to reach the sprinklers. This will introduce additional friction loss for those zones.

However, if you ran a new line of pipe, and did not lengthen any existing zones, then having extra mainline will not effect your existing zones at all. Think of it as a larger pressure tank :)

3. jeffinsgf

The second scenario is what I've done. I put a compression tee on the mainline right after the DBCVA, then ran the new line around to the raised bed gardens in the back yard and then up the hill to my barn and added a couple of faucets. I did not increase the run to the old zones in any way.

4. hoskm01

hoskm01 LawnSite Fanatic

Oh well. That will be a fun fix in a few years. Otherwise sounds like a good upgrade.

5. jeffinsgf

Hey, it hasn't been backfilled yet. I take it you would have done 4 90's and a tee? I assumed that the extra turns would be more disruptive to the flow and pressure. Is the compression tee that likely to fail?

6. hoskm01

hoskm01 LawnSite Fanatic