1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Advertising help please!!!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Lowcountrylawn, Jul 26, 2006.

1. Lowcountrylawn

Lowcountrylawn LawnSite Member

Im new to the law business, just finishing up my paperwork for my business license.I was wondering what are the best ways for a new comer to advertise for a low cost and generate some type of income.Any help would be wonderful.Thanks!
  2. BBN

BBN LawnSite Member

I'm not one to give advise as I am new but I'm getting ready to send out a few hundred flyers in the mail to people with smaller lawns. If I can get 2-3 responses I will be happy. Just a few gets the foot in the door.
  3. fjay5272

fjay5272 LawnSite Member

I dont have a great deal of advertising experience and because of this I went to a small business seminar at Michigan State University. They said for small businesses statistically the best method was flyers and door hangers. They also said to expect a 1% call back rate on those. We put out about 1,000 and received only 4-5 calls but then again 1,000 isn't a definitive sample. Probably should have put out more like 5-10 thousand. A friend/mentor of ours put out 200,000 each of the past two years and said the 1% rate has been consistent for him. He says it fares better than his yellow pages listing for residential services. Commercial is a different story.