1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

advertising mid season...yeah or nay?

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by green thum, Jun 18, 2005.

1. green thum

green thum LawnSite Member

This is my first full season in the biz and i am happy with my current # of accounts but would like more(who wouldn't right?)my question is this,is it worthwhile to advertise(fliers,and or newspaper ad?)halfway through the season?thanks for the help!!
  2. JRAZ

JRAZ LawnSite Member
    from NW

repetition, repetition, repetition! Keep your name out there. People who are not satisfied w/their current service will call and people who realize they are too busy now for their yard will call too. I advertise all year w/out an expensive yellow page ad.
  3. ercrvs24

ercrvs24 LawnSite Member

It's my first year as well. I've got door fliers (just 1000) being made now. If you want, I'll let you know how it works this after I dist. them.
  4. Sky King

Sky King LawnSite Member

My first year also.
    This is the first month my advertizing has really payed off, I am in the news paper, and a little county news mag., but the grass has just staeted really growing down here.
  5. bobbygedd

bobbygedd LawnSite Fanatic
    from NJ

i put an add back in, about 2 weeks ago. i got a few phone calls, but from very undesireable prospects. i have, however, been picking up work steadily by word of mouth, and passers by
  6. green thum

green thum LawnSite Member

Bobby, yeah mord of mouth is FINALLY starting for me,i've heard (on here)that is the best form of advertisment.
  7. Dogbonz

Dogbonz LawnSite Senior Member

I made a flyer on my home computer,, then took it to Kinko's for them to run off copies for me,, on Monday's they do copies for Half price! .04 ea.