Advice needed!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by blaiselfd5, Aug 14, 2009.

1. blaiselfd5

blaiselfd5 LawnSite Member

Thank you for reading my post and any advice or constructive criticism is GREATLY appreciated.

My brother and I are in the process of planning our own lawn care business. I am a full time fireman, so it would be a full time/ part time business for me. My brother wants to go strictly full time. I am very good with people (public relations) and business management (I was a golf pro for several years). My brother will look to me for handling almost all of the business side, and he is ready to cut five days a week. I will help him cut on the days i am off from the fire department. Here are a few questions i pose:

1) Starting the business I am torn as to borrow the money (8K to 12K) to buying all the equipment needed to start off full force; or getting into it slowly by buying equipment piece by piece. We are ready to go at it full force and hustle up work as fast as possible, but i'm smart enough not to make a boneheaded move and put myself in a bad situation financially.

2) Is our timing bad as far as starting a lawn care business in August? I know the winter months are approaching and the last thing i want to do is invest money on equipment, then sit on it for a few months. We are willing to hustle up any type of work we can to keep income coming in, but i don't know the demand for winter work around here in south louisiana. But whatever it is, we are willing to do it. Any realistic ideas?

3) In order to expand our capabilities of acquiring more work, we are thinking of buying a pressure washer. Is this a good idea? Are there any other oppurtunities that go along well with a lawn care business?