Advice on 2 Acre Estates

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by CP Estates, Nov 23, 2005.

1. CP Estates

CP Estates LawnSite Member
    from North

First of all, yes I'm a newb. :waving:

More importantly, I'm looking for some advice. I'm located in a semi-rural area and have a neighbourhood next door to my 5 acres that has approximately 100 estates on +/- 2 Acre lots. The houses are in and around the $1MM mark so everyone is fairly well off. Because of a combination of A)my proximity to these neighbours, B) my past experience in groundskeeping and C) my wanting to be as close to home as possible, I figured that since I'm in need of a new half-decent commercial mower for my place and after 20 years of commuting and wearing a tie, I would have as good of a shot at getting maybe 15-20 of these estates and service the hell out of them while making a half-decent wage.

Is this as do-able as it seems given the fact that I am so close and have a business background?
  2. redoak77

redoak77 LawnSite Senior Member

Welcome to the Site!! By having a business background you are already ahead of many others on this site. You might have a harder time than you think getting 15-20 of them but you could end up with that many in a few years. Most importantly, make sure to sell a good service and don't try to sell based on low price. If your just working in that neighboorhood try to sell that fact. It would sound like they are getting more specialized service. Best of luck.

KERRTURF LawnSite Member

Sounds like you have the right idea with keeping a tight route, and targeting your areas. Just a couple of suggestions though...