Advice on choosing a mower

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by dkr77, Sep 13, 2004.

1. dkr77

dkr77 LawnSite Member

Hello everyone. I am new to the forum and could use your help. Let me start off by saying I do not mow commercially but I am in the process of building a new home with anywhere from 3-5 acres to mow. To me, mowing is a chore and the sooner I can get back inside my air conditioned home the better I will like it. Also, I am by no means a mechanic and due to my budget I will have to keep the cost to under $7,500. So here is where I need advice from some of the more experienced grass slayers on the forum. Should I consider a used commercial machine, a high end residential machine or a lower cost commercial mower? Should I purchase a front or mid mount deck? I have tried a 60" Ferris with a 23 hp kaw but while mowing the anti-scalp wheel fell off and I accidently run over it. My wife also had a heck of a time with the pedal that raised the deck. I tried a scag turf tiger (used 2001 model $6000) and it mowed well but the ride seemed rough. Other mowers I have looked at, but have not demoed, are a new 23 hp 60" front mount bush hog ($6000), a new 23 hp mid mount 60" hustler ($7,100), a new 60" 23 hp mid mount ex-mark ($7,300), a new 27 hp 60" mid mount toro ($7,200) and a used 25hp (3 cylinder kubota) front mount grasshopper ($6,300). Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance for any replies. Dan

2. out4now

out4now LawnSite Bronze Member
    from AZ