1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Advice on expanding

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by WoodBrothersLC, May 12, 2004.

1. WoodBrothersLC

WoodBrothersLC LawnSite Senior Member

My brother and I have been mowing yards for the last 4 years, and now for the last 2 and a half years we have maintained on average 15-18 yards. We're looking to expand because we have more time now due to the fact that I just had reconstructive knee surgery and I won't be playing football anymore. We'd like to get more customers in one of the ritzy areas that we mow right now. Any advice would be appreciated.
  2. pjslawncare/landscap

pjslawncare/landscap LawnSite Bronze Member

The best advertising Ive ever had come from word of mouth. Just do a real good job always & let your presence be known. Hand out business cards in person to who ever sees your work & offer your services to them.
  3. EastProLawn

EastProLawn LawnSite Bronze Member

Advertise in the coupons that get mailed to your homes in your area. Did that last year ( cost me about $250.00 ) and landed 10 accounts directly from the mailings, and about 3 or 4 more from those customers. There are two major coupon companies that I know of, I don't know if there is more but try one of these.

Super Coupons ( they have a website I think is Supercoups.com )

ValuePack ( also have a website not sure on web address )

Good Luck !
  4. cantoo

cantoo LawnSite Silver Member