1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Aerating Preferences

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by wbkuhler, Feb 28, 2003.

1. wbkuhler

wbkuhler LawnSite Member

I don't have any experience with aerators so I am looking for some advice.

I am new to the biz and was wondering if you guys prefer spike aerators or core plug aerators and what benefits and drawbacks each has?

Trying to make a purchasing decision and could use some advice. From some people who know about these things.

Thanks for any help!
  2. KirbysLawn

KirbysLawn Millenium Member

Core all the way. Spike "aerators" do no such thing, they only press the dirt further into the ground.
  3. grshppr

grshppr LawnSite Senior Member

Definately you want a core aerator. It is much better for the lawn than punching holes down into the ground. We use a Ryan, its a great machine.
  4. dklawncare

dklawncare LawnSite Member

could someone please tell me the price ranges of core aerators? Also, what is the average hourly rate that they bring (how much do you charge per hour of aeration?). Thanks
  5. Premo Services

Premo Services LawnSite Bronze Member

There are different brands, but price ranges from 2500.00-3500.00. This would be for a core aerator. They come in 26,28,30 inch widths.