aerating, seeding, fert. on 4 acres

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by work_it, Sep 9, 2003.

1. work_it

work_it LawnSite Senior Member

I'm new to aerating and need some advice. I've never bid a job this size and would like to know what most of you would charge for aerating, overseeding, and fertilizing 4+ acres. The property is set on a hill with a 20 to 30 percent grade in the front and level in the back. Some of the areas have hard compacted soil. I don't have a rider to attach it to and need to know what to rent to do this job. If possible could you also give me a bottom line $$$ amount. What should I expect to pay for seed (fescue blend), and fert.? Any help is appreciated, thanks!

P.S.-I did a search on this subject and came up with some ideas, but would like some more input.

2. Lawn-Scapes

Lawn-Scapes LawnSite Silver Member

I would recommend a tractor and 60" tow behind (or 3 point). If the soil is hard you will probably need to stack about 2-300 pounds on it. Depending on how thin the turf is.. you could need 1200-1700 pounds of seed. Cost for seed could be .70 - .85 per pound.

It will cost you approximately $1500 in materials plus equipment rental.

I think bottom line should be around $3500

3. Hole in 1

Hole in 1 LawnSite Member

I agree with with Lawn-Scapes on the equipment and price ($3500 BOTTOM LINE) And if some of the area is really compacted I would recommend Gypsum to the customer as well. I use "best" brand "Soil Buster". but for that size of job pellatized Gypsum by the truck load.

4. jeffex

jeffex LawnSite Bronze Member

I'm guessing you are overseeding and aerating an existing turf area.
    100 lbs -125 lbs of seed per acre rebell supreme is $35 for 25 lbs
    starter fert.[no lisc. nec] 2.5 bags per acre of lesco 15,000 sq ft $20 per bag
    check soil ph and use pelletized lime to correct following recomendations on bag.