aeration and seeding estimate

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by jarroo's lawncare, Mar 3, 2006.

1. jarroo's lawncare

jarroo's lawncare LawnSite Member

what would you guys charge for aeration and overseeding of a yard about a little over a 1/2 acre. i am just trying to get a figure of what i should be charging. i have to rent the aerator ($50 a day) and the seed is $50 a bag i hope this is enough info to get some kind of price.

2. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

$750 should cover it.

3. SOUTHERNGREENSCAPES

SOUTHERNGREENSCAPES LawnSite Senior Member

YEAH, I BET IT WOULD COVER IT.
    I AM JUST STARTING OUT AND THE WAY I AM DOING IT IS TO WORK OUT A SPECIAL. I WILL BE RENTING A AEROTOR FROM MY LOCAL HOME DEPOT AND PLAN TO FIND 1-2 CUSTOMERS IN ADVANCE THAT WILL SIGN UP FOR AN AERATING JOB WITH OVERSEEDING. ON A .25 ACRE LOT, I WAS PLANNING ON CHARGING $99. THAT WAY, IF I ONLY DID ONE YARD, OUT SIDE OF MY TIME, I WOULD BREAK EVEN. IF I DID MORE, IT WOULD BE GRAVY. MY PLAN IS TO SHOW UP ON A SATURDAY MORNING TO HIT THAT FIRST CUSTOMER AND WHILE I AM WORKING THAT YARD, MY WIFE IS GOING TO GO DOOR TO DOOR AND DRUM UP MY NEXT YARD. THAT WAY I CAN CONCENTRATE ON THE JOB AND PRODUCTIVITY. IF SHE SETS UP MORE THAN ONE DAYS WORTH OF WORK, I EVEN THOUGHT OF GETTING SOME HELP FROM A LOCAL TEMP AGENCY FOR ABOUT $10/HR. I FIGURED THAT I COULD KICK OUT CLOSE TO 10-12 YARDS IN A DAY IF IT ALL GOES GREAT. AS FAR AS LARGER YARDS. I WOULD GRAB A MEASUREING WHEEL AND WALK OFF THE SQUARE FEET OF THE YARD TO FIGURE OUT HOW MUCH SEED YOU WILL NEED. THEN TAKE A WALK BEHIND MOWER OR SOMETHING SIMILAR AND WALK OF THE SAME AMOUNT OF SQUARE FEET IN YOUR OWN YARD TO SEE HOW MUCH YOU CAN DO IN SAY 30MINS. IF YOU CAN DO 2000k SQFT IN 30MINS AND THE YARD IS 4000K SQFT. THEN JUST FIGURE OUT ALL YOUR EXPENSES FOR SEED AND LABOR AND DETERMINE A SET RATE PER SQFT FOR THE AERATOR. THAT WAY IT IS EASY TO DETERMINE BASED OFF OF HOW MANY SQFT IN THE YARD. AFTER YOU HAVE YOUR BASE FIG