Aeration/Dethatching

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by opie25, Apr 5, 2007.

1. opie25

opie25 LawnSite Member

I have been monitoring this site for many months but have not posted anything until now. Since I recently added aerating, dethatching, and seeding to my services, I wanted to find out how people charge. I know people's opinion on asking the "pricing" question so hopefully you guys will not be to angry. I read a recent post on aerating for $15-$20 per 1000 sq ft. What price do people use for aerating, dethatching, and seeding at the same time? When I figured out the amount to pay for equipment rental, time, seed, and disposing of the dead grass, I came up with an outrageously high number of $75.00 per 1000 sq ft on a 5000 sq ft lawn. It does not sound like I will get any customers at that price. Any help is appreciated. Thanks

2. DoetschOutdoor

DoetschOutdoor LawnSite Bronze Member
    from S. IL

I dont ever measure my yards but I figure most of them to be about 5k. I can come in and aerate and overseed in less than an hour and charge about 150-175 for this. Dethatching is totally different you know right?? It involves the dethatch and then raking all of the debris up and doing somthing with it. I only had to dethatch 3 yards last year, all of them 200 a pop. The actual dethatch only takes about 15 mins and then the raking/clean up takes about an hour for these jobs.

3. opie25

opie25 LawnSite Member

Yea, I know dethatching is totally different and takes much longer than aerating. That is why I came up with such a high number per 1000 sq ft. I guess for dethatching its better to charge by the job. Thanks for the help.

4. turfcobob

turfcobob LawnSite Senior Member

Question back at ya