1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

aeration question

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by ronslawncare, Sep 19, 2001.

1. ronslawncare

ronslawncare LawnSite Senior Member

this is my first time aerating im useing a spiker aerator from a rental shop.the customer i will be doing this job for has irrigation .i know it has been said to put flags down by the sprinkler heads .but is it possiable to damage any sprinkler pipes or anything .
  2. EJK2352

EJK2352 LawnSite Bronze Member

As long as all the sprinkler heads are marked you shouldn't have any problems. Most systems have pipes 4-6" below the ground.
    If you do hit a head or pipe they are fairly easy to repair. :) ;) :) ED
  3. guntruck

guntruck LawnSite Senior Member

Yes its possible to damage sprinkler lines. We just did a high end res. job, it was a garden job but nonetheless the irrigation was buried 1-2" in spots in fact in some spots it was visible. I talked to the owner he said well that year we had a drought and they just couldnt dig any deeper. I think its a lame excuse for laziness on his emplyees' parts. But the answer is yes, most of them around here are just 1" pvc and very easy to fix and the garden heads are ran with what they call funny line and they are easier yet. I would , as others have recommended on this site have the customer sign something releasing you of any and all responsiblity if you damage anything that wasnt properly installed in the first place. good luck.
  4. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

If you're using a spiker aerator, don't bother wasting your time or your customer's money. That could be money better spent on some other service you could do that would actually benefit you and his lawn. Find a core aerator.
  5. ronslawncare