Aerator vs. Power/Slit seeder

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by peeweezr, Sep 25, 2001.

1. peeweezr

peeweezr LawnSite Member

So I go down to my local rental place to aerate the lawn and the guy at the rental place says if I am going to overseed a fescue lawn then it would be better to use a power seeder instead of aerating and then overseeding with a rotary spreader? I am no expert, so I will ask the experts here. I have done a few searches for power seeders and I am somewhat perplexed now. What is the best approach to overseeding an existing fescue lawn? Is this guy just blowing smoke or is a power/slit seeder the way to go? Hope I have the terms right-slit/split/power seeder? Thanks,

peeweezr:confused:

2. Use both. Aeration should be done first, then do your slit seeding.

3. Eric ELM

Eric ELM Husband, Father, Friend, Angel

4. kutnkru

kutnkru LawnSite Silver Member

The associate of that company you spoke with is combining both services into one.

If you are Over-Seeding then you would core aerate the turfgrass first. This will allow your seed and fertilizer to have direct contact with the soil and the nutrients can be absorbed by the root zone much quicker.

If you are Slice-Seeding then you would use a power rake to slice the first layers of turf and a seed hopper would distribute the seed from the machine. The only broadcasting necessary with this step would be to apply your fert.

If you do not have the seed hopper to distribute the seed then you would want to aerate using the over-seed method for optimum results.

Hope this helps.
    Kris

5. peeweezr

peeweezr LawnSite Member

Thanks!!...as the three stooges once said, "that's super soivice!"

peeweezr:D

6. MOW ED

MOW ED LawnSite Fanatic

Seed to soil contact is what grows grass, if you can get your hands on a Ryan/Mataway overseeder you will save money in seed and have a happy customer if Mother Nature cooperates.