After Dylox treatment-how to get damaged areas back in shape

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by mikesturf, Sep 30, 2007.

1. mikesturf

mikesturf LawnSite Senior Member

TONS of grub damage in NW Suburbs of Chicago. Treating many lawns with Dylox. Outside of watering and keeping mowing height high any other tips on trying to get grub damaged areas back in shape. Hoping we don't need to re-seed or sod areas.

2. gqnine44

gqnine44 LawnSite Senior Member

This is my first year to deal with a lot of grub damage. It is horrible in many areas around here. Animals have rolled up turf in many spots. I think the grub/drought combo means re-seeding is the only possible solution.

3. EcoLawn  Inc.

EcoLawn Inc. LawnSite Member

Much of the rolled up turf you are seeing is most likely skunks digging to get the grubs. If the turf areas on many of your lawns isn't torn up too bad, just watering the damaged areas will do the trick. It's just like laying a new piece of sod. If the damaged sod gets enough water, it will regenerate new roots and start to grow again.

A common problem I have found over the years has been what people do after they get grubs. They end up ripping out the damaged areas and reseeding, but typically they don't know what type of grass they have and they plant a seed type that doesn't blend with what is currently in their lawn.

This is a great opportunity for you to sell them a grub preventative for next year.

4. americanlawn

americanlawn LawnSite Fanatic
    from midwest