Allan Block (Ashlar) Walls We Built

Discussion in 'Hardscaping' started by JimLewis, Oct 5, 2006.

1. JimLewis

JimLewis LawnSite Fanatic

2. Ron's Lawncare

Ron's Lawncare LawnSite Senior Member

nice work jim, are those blocks easy to work with? i've never done a random pattern like that before.

3. JimLewis

JimLewis LawnSite Fanatic

Oh yah! They're easy! About as easy as a friggin' rubick's cube!!!

No, in theory they are easy. But in practice, they weren't as easy. The pattern itself makes it about 25% more difficult than a regular block wall. Then you have to fill each block with gravel. That's annoying, and makes it another 25% more difficult. And that's just if you are doing a wall where the base is straight and the top is straight.

The biggest problem is when you get to the step-ups at the base of the wall. That is, if the area where you need to install your base course is not level from right to left and you've eventually got to step up the base. That's where it gets hella confusing and complicated with the AB Pattern. We only had to do that on the lowest wall, by the sidewalk. But that wall took us as long to build as the other 3 walls combined.

Then there was the issue of geogrid. That was very complicated as well, because of the step-up pattern. Geogrid itself isn't too difficult to install or figure out. But when you have a step-up pattern then it makes it next to impossible because you don't ever arrive at a flat point in the wall to install the geogrid.

It was a PITA, is all I can say. But the customers love it. And everyone else on that street has the typical Mutual Materials "Manor Stone" walls. And now all their walls look like crap compared to these walls. Everyone on the street was jealous as heck. They loved this pattern and look and wished they had done it at their home. So even though it was a PITA, it was probably worth it. Lots of publicity.