Almost Tax time again

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by bdemir, Feb 13, 2000.

1. bdemir

bdemir LawnSite Senior Member

one more month and it will be time to do the taxes. Its my first year doing taxes in lawncare and i would like to ask a few questions. My accountant says i cant deduct my tools all at once and i have to deduct my tools over a four year period. Is this mandatory. Also i met a guy who years ago helped kids get off drugs years ago and they would allow him 8 thousand dollars write off for each kid. They no longer do this with kids but will give a 9k deduction for ex cons. The downside of course is youll be working with a criminal.Im not that desperate but i wnated to ask everyone if there are ways to legally help lower taxes in the lawncare business.

2. Charles

Charles Moderator Staff Member

My accountant told me a just last month. That she was writing off my new equipment totally the first year. Don't know who is right on this one.

3. jeffclc

jeffclc Guest