Alot of questions

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by DeeJayy, Feb 19, 2008.

1. DeeJayy

DeeJayy LawnSite Member

I've been mowing grass for about 4 years now, I'm only 16 by the way. I've always taken pride in my work and have about 3 accounts around my neighborhood, nothing big, just neighbors. Ok so I have alot of questions so stick with me please
    - What brand of equipment would you guys recommend? Or is it the Chevy vs. Dodge thing where everyone has their opinions?
    - How much should you spend on equipment when you first start out and what do you think the basics are besides a tractor and a weed wacker.
    - Whats the difference between a Landscape Contractor and a Landscape company? Is there any difference? I only ask this because it had options when you first sign up for this forum.
    - What do you think is the best way to advertise? Is it worth the extra money to make a website and everything?
    I'm sure I'll have more questions but thanks again for the help and thanks for sticking with me

2. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

- Doesn't really matter, pick one and stick to it, Stihl and Toro for me.
    > The reason for loyalty is more than redneckery, it's about gaining the intimate knowledge for the machines that comes in handy later... Such as what to do when it craps out, every brand has different quirks, brand loyalty pays off in that sense.

As for a truck?
    The best value 3/4 ton my money can buy, that one.
    Performance comes long before luxury and cosmetics, the better it runs the worse it can look, but that's just me.

- At least 5g, 8 is better.