1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Alpine Magnum Stump Grinder

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by work4green, Dec 22, 2005.

1. work4green

work4green LawnSite Member

I was wondering if anyone here has this stump grinder? How do you like it? Does it perform as advertised on the web site?

I've been considering buying one for several years, but never had a pressing job large enough to justify another piece of equipment. I have a customer that had his timber cleared, about 3 acres worth. He wants the stumps ground and the soil prepped for planting fescue. It doesn't need to be a real manicured lawn, just a field that is smooth enough for mowing with a large rider/zero turn.

I'm trying to find a skidsteer mounted grinder to rent, but haven't found one available in my area. I would rather spend more time grinding and a little more money up front to buy a machine that can be used for the next several years, instead of turning it in after a week. Eventually I'll buy a skidsteer mounted brush cutter and stumper, but I currently am specializing in smaller brush cutting jobs.

I'm also open to any other ideas for cleaning up this lot. Someone has already pushed the larger debris into piles, and has been burnt. We just need to do a final cleaning, remove the stumps, and prep the soil.
  2. Restrorob

Restrorob LawnSite Fanatic