alternative pond liners

Discussion in 'Water Features' started by newbieponder, Mar 6, 2006.

1. newbieponder

newbieponder LawnSite Member

I am new at this and am attempting an 11x14 yard pond. Can you tell me the best (and cheapest) liner out there to use? This is my first, but hopefully not my last. My husband has a lawn maintenance/landscaping business and we are hoping to be able to start building yard ponds too as we have had a lot of requests for this ...but first we are experimenting in our own backyard. Are there other alternatives to regular poly liners? Thanks.

2. Victor

Victor LawnSite Bronze Member

As you obviously know. There are many types of liners. Each of them have their merits and each have their drawbacks. Some of the most popular types are EPDM (rubber), Polyethylene and PVC. If properly installed, any type of pond liner will do well for you.
    I'm glad to see that you want to get into pond building the right way. There are too many people out there who are installing ponds for customers, before they have enough knowledge to be competent at it.
    To answer your question, a good alternative to a poly liner, is an EPDM liner. EPDM liners are made of rubber. They also come in varying thicknesses. Some are 20 mil, some are 45 mil. Some even come in 60 mil thicknesses (with an underlayment attached).
    When I built my pond in my backyard. I used a type of liner that's called an "Ultraguard" liner. A blend of polymers are used to make this type of liner. One of the reasons I used it was because of weight considerations. I was going to have to use a lot of liner to properly fill my pond excavation. Had I used EPDM liner (especially 45 mil), the liner would have been unbelievably heavy.