aluminum spikes....why?

Discussion in 'Landscape Lighting' started by Lawn Designers, Nov 1, 2007.

1. Lawn Designers

Lawn Designers LawnSite Member
    from NY

I am very new in the lighting arena but I was wondering why do lighting companies use aluminum spikes? It makes no sense to me at all. After 1-2 yrs they are completely rotted and the entire fixture needs to be replaced from the service jobs I have went to look at. Why doesn't every company use a non-metal spike? The PVC spikes make the most sense. Do the copper, brass and bronze spikes rot as much as the aluminum?

2. NightScenes

NightScenes LawnSite Silver Member

Only the cheapest fixtures like Malibu use aluminum stakes. I don't know of any "professional" lighting people that would use these products but I'm sure that there are some trunk slammers out there using that "stuff".

3. Pro-Scapes

Pro-Scapes LawnSite Platinum Member

bronze stakes seem to hold up real well. PVC as long as its not exposed to sunlight is good too.

I would never consider installing a fixture with alluminum in the ground like that

4. INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting

INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting LawnSite Platinum Member

I am not a fan of non-metallic ground stakes. I like to know that all my ground mounted fixtures are in fact grounded. This adds an extra layer of safety.... I submit the following for your perusal:

"The rapid growth of 12 volt outdoor lighting using plastic stakes should make safety a great concern to consumers. Plastic ground stakes used to support 12 volt metal outdoor lighting fixtures are a devastating accident waiting to happen!