am I crazy???

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by n2h20, Jul 2, 2005.

1. n2h20

n2h20 LawnSite Senior Member

SO i have come to a fork in my life. The house i have been renting (super cheap rent) for the last 3 years is in escrow. I cant afford to buy a new house and rent is rediculous.

I have an established pond/water garden business that has been going for 5 years i built from the ground up, however i am limited in my business knowledge and Am not making what i want,.

I have family and a large well known contact in the folsom Ca area, also a soon to be bro in law, sister in law, and 2 nephews. THe bro in law has a horticulture degree and is a very quick with plants. He and i are talking about starting a business up there (im in so cal)
    Am i crazy for leaving a business i worked so hard to build for a Chance to start a new better bigger business?

The folsom/sacramento area is growing very rapidly in housing population. with dirt back yards.

Im confused on what to do and a little help, slap to the face or hints would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
  2. n2h20

did that not make any sense or doesnt any one have anything to say??

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member

Like many guys, I'm not a huge fan of partnerships...however, they do work sometimes. It might be a good fit in your situation, you already have the knowledge as far as the day-to-day business operations, and your brother-in-law has the horticultural knowledge that would be a great asset for you.

I guess you just need to weigh the risks involved in picking up and starting over again, versus staying put and trying to make it work where you are now.
  4. iluvscag

iluvscag LawnSite Senior Member

I would stay away from partnerships. :)
  5. Kate Butler

Kate Butler LawnSite Senior Member