1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Am I missing anythig?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Green-Pro, Sep 15, 2004.

1. Green-Pro

Green-Pro LawnSite Bronze Member

I am in the stages of planning to start a LCO beginning next season and really want to make sure I am getting everything nailed down to help ensure a smooth entry into the local market and visible success. I worked in a factory for 16 yrs. and it wasn't bad, but it closed and (with same company) I got moved to an office well----I CAN'T STAND IT ANYMORE.

I have been contemplating trying to start a business of my own for a while and lately cannot resist the gotta do it feeling. Just want to run some things I'm doing by the experts. I have nearly completed a business plan, with goal for first year to make what I do now about 40K, I feel I need to be very customer focused and to that end want to present a professional image (uniform shirts, clean shaved, on time, sign on truck & equip., etc.) I plan to use local trading post papers for ads and insert fliers & also post fliers, leave business cards at other businesses(with o.k.) and have brochures available all after first of year into feb. & mar. Also am insured & licensed.
    Equipment will be: 727A &717A commercial mini frame Z-Trak by J.D

2 Trailers one 16' & one 8"
    2 string trimmers Echo
    2 blowers Echo
    2 hedge trimmers Echo
    40" tow core aerator
    HD tow spreader
    HD push spreader
    assorted hand tools
    Reason for 2 of everything is I do not want to turn any residences down I can always hire help if needed. Got truck but it is 1/2 ton ext 4 wheel drive.
    I have all equipment paid for, cashed in retirement to start debt free, and am so excited I can't stand it!!