am i too late to make bids

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Afamilylawncare, May 2, 2003.

1. Afamilylawncare

Afamilylawncare LawnSite Member

I am new to the business and am working on getting my first account. I am going to be using a eXmark Metro ECS WB with a 36" deck and a 21" push mower I am very motivated but am thinking i am too late to land any real accounts. I have my sites on making about 35-50/hr for a two man crew.

2. I don’t know that region, but if you hustle, you can probably end up with a full dance-card within the next two months. It is late, so you’ll have to settle on the left-overs. Make yourself as presentable as is practical and drive around looking for lawns that aren’t mowed. Find the time when people are home so you can talk to them face to face, you'll make much faster progress that way.

With that equipment, you should stay away from large accounts, they’ll eat your lunch. If you’re looking for your first account, there is no amount of preaching that will make you believe in keeping your bids high. That’s totally understandable. But as time goes by, you’ll kick yourself for every low-ball bid job you get.

3. Afamilylawncare

what do you mean with when you said with that equipment is my equipment good or bad in your opinion i didnt follow what you meant but overall thatks for the advice and your comments

4. Mr.Stripey Lawn Care

Mr.Stripey Lawn Care LawnSite Member

Your equipment is fine, but with a 36 inch deck and a pushmower, your productivity isn't going to be as high, as say with a 48, 52, or 60 inch deck. The larger the job, the longer it is going to take you, and the less you will make an hour, especially with two of you. Think of it is once the pushmower has done all it needs to, somebody is going to be wating on you and the Metro to finish.

Good luck!

5. Gr grass n Hi tides

Gr grass n Hi tides LawnSite Bronze Member