1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Amateur needing help

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by swbhog, Jun 17, 2007.

1. swbhog

swbhog LawnSite Member

Hi I'm new to this sight but hope someone can enlighten me.I am a landscaper,mainly maintenance but I dabble when needed.I need help with an install irrigation. I have done numerous installs mainly for friends throughout the 16 years I,ve been Landscaping. I do this work part time and have no interest in doing irrigation for a living. Enough of my background.I have studied the hydraulics theories till I'm blue in the face and still barely get by.This job I am doing is a little bigger than I usually take on but you got to help friends in need.
    My system needs to cover 900' long and 140' wide.Drafting from a lake the intake side is 100' out in lake to deep water.Maybe 5' drop from dock.This is a new install with about 25,000 in plant material so I must not fail.

Please feel free to critique this mess its how I learn.
    My problem is what pump,main line size,valvin etc. FIS irrigation has directed me to this set up.

Sta-rite 5hp 230v DHJ
    Esplxm clock
    PESB series electric valves-self cleaning because of lake sediment.
    2 1/2 160 pipe mainline
    Rainbird Maxipaws or 5000 series or Hunter pcp,s
    I know what your thinking what PSI and GPM. I was guessing at 83 gpm at 50 psi on my worksheet but I suck at math.

Am I overkilling this beast or what.Also do I really need to dropdown my pipe sizes every 30' or so to maintain psi after my valves.I didn't do it for my house and it works well.Sorry for the long 1st post but my head hurts from contemplating this and I need help.
  2. Dirty Water

Dirty Water LawnSite Fanatic

5HP pumps will provide enough water to fill a 4" main :)