Amsoil

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Andrew's Lawn Maintenance, Sep 20, 2007.

1. Andrew's Lawn Maintenance

Andrew's Lawn Maintenance LawnSite Member

I am currently using the Amsoil Saber Pro 100:1 pre mix and am very pleased with the results of the non smoke smell. I am currently mixing it to 80:1 instead of the 100:1 mix because I am affraid that it will burn to hot in the engine! Do any of you use Amsoil and mix it to 100:1. Thanks!!!

2. causalitist

causalitist LawnSite Senior Member

ya i use it .. i also mix it "stronger", i put one of those little bottles meant for 3gal in a 2.5 gal can. thats prolly around 80:1 .

there are prolly 50 other people on here who do.

i've been running it for 2 years with good results, no smoke, very low soot/oil buildup etc.

there is a person or 2 on here who say it's garbage and no oil should be run past 50:1 .. i think they said it was just a thicker oil. i personally think amsoil is a great company, what sells me is how they list all of the scientific info for there motor oils and the levels of zinc, base number etc. from the little bit of additive level information i have found for other "good" oils, amsoil is better.

but for me, there is no way im going to buy an oil etc just because of a great commecial or ad campaign ... thats the way i work, tell me the numbers, show me scientifically why its better or im not buying it. makes sense right?

3. deerex

deerex LawnSite Member

I use it around 75:1. I also use seafoam 1 oz per gallon. It is nice come winter time not to have to worry how old the gas is in various 2-cycles. This combo has always treated me well.:cool2:

4. The mayor

The mayor LawnSite Senior Member

I have been running 100 to 1 for over ten years now. Not a single engine failure.

5. saw man

saw man LawnSite Bronze Member
    from utah