1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

An Intoduction, of sorts...

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by prosperity, Mar 24, 2007.

1. prosperity

prosperity LawnSite Member

I've been cruising this forum for a couple years now. I've gained so much from reading posts here for hours at a time, I thought it was finally time to kind of introduce myself.

A little history...
    I started out in this industry back around 1975. My father (retired at the time) started a small LCO back then when I was still in high school to try and give me a bit of a "start" I guess. We did mostly commercial accounts - our biggest was a national park in Northern NJ.
    Well, being young and dumb, after I took it over after graduating high school, I let things slide since I thought that partying and girls were much more important. Contracts lost, and equipment sold.

Fast forward about 25 years, after a long career which brought me to the city (country boy here), I left that high pressure career, and moved to the boonies, where I have now lived for ~15 years. Got the business started up on a small level again in this new area - about 10 accounts. Very tough, very rural, very poor area.

Then, for some reason, I ended up with a State job. Didn't really want it, but thought it was the "right thing to do" for my family and all. I still kept a few accounts during the next 10 years while working the state job.

Well, moved myself up the "ladder" in the State - to the point where I could just not handle the "politics" and all (long story). Ended up leaving that job last August - vested my pension, and walked.