An Introduction, A Super-post, A Spanish Conquistador Looking Dog? HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by Lawnsome!, Jun 20, 2008.

1. Lawnsome!

Lawnsome! LawnSite Member

Hello everyone!

My name is Lawnsome! Despite my name, my lawn is not lawnsome at all.

Currently I have been deviously lurking in the darker nooks and crannies of the site for a while. Being that I am not a professional landscaper, and my knowledge landscaping is limited to the work my parents have ruthlessly commanded of me as their own personal indentured servant, I don't have much knowledge to contribute to such a sharp community.

In the beginning I thought helping out with the yard work was terrible. But I had resolve, and a father who wasn't afraid to try and kick 65 yard field-goals with my backside if I tried to pull less than my own weight around the house.

Now that I am older, I take pride in the house, the yard, and the way I was brought up. My parents are working full-time jobs plus overtime, and don't have much time or energy to devote to the yard anymore.

So for the last two summers I have been in charge of the yard. Fumbling my way through with some ok results, but the yard can be better.

I was hoping that maybe I could get some help from this site, so that I can help my parents out and pay them back a fraction of what they have done for me.

The whole family is very "outdoorsy" so we live outside when we aren't busy. If I can give them a nice lawn, I think it would be a lawnsome thing of me to do. I know they would be appreciative, surprised and proud. And in short they totally deserve it.

Now for the technical stuff...

I have absolutely no idea what kinds of grass are growing, what kinds of weeds have been bullying their way into my lovely green life, or where to start improving our lawn.

Here is the basic climate information for where I live...

http://www.weather.com/outlook/travel/businesstraveler/wxclimatology/monthly/graph/06510?locid=06510