An "Oh ****" Retaining Wall

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by dmbmikee, Jul 20, 2004.

1. dmbmikee

dmbmikee LawnSite Member

Just got asked to do a bid (that I know I'll pretty much get), on a retaining wall with 60 tons of boulders. The customer is an aquantance and says the job was bid at $10,200 but the company cannot start until mid august and the customer needs it done NOW! My problem is, I've never done a huge wall like this before. In some spots it will be 12-14 foot high. Also, I only own a 30hp Ford with a large bucket. I know I'm gonna need somethin like a bobcat or maybe a boom truck, but I'm really not sure what the hell I'm doing. Should I just pass the job up, or give it my best shot? I already told the customer that I've never done a job this big before, but they say, "that's o.k." So......Any advice on equipment or materials would be great, and hell maybe I'll even sub the job out? Thanks a whole lot:)

Mike

2. rubicacher

rubicacher LawnSite Member

If you get in over your head it's not hard to burn up 10K

3. D Felix

D Felix LawnSite Bronze Member

What kind of stone are you looking at using? Granite, sandstone, limestone,????

12-14' high is pretty tall for any kind of stone retaining wall. It's tall for a block wall.

If you've never done anything like it (probably not many have), I'd either pass on it, or do it on a T&M basis.

Most likely you will want something other than a tractor to set the boulders. How big will the boulders be? I'd probably look at a combination of a skidsteer with forks to move the boulders around, and a mini-excavator to set them with. The mini-ex will need to have a hydraulic "thumb" attachment. A Bobcat 337 is big enough to pick up a good sized rock, probably at least a ton at full extension, a lot more closer to the cab....

Dan

4. earthtool

earthtool LawnSite Member

dmbmikee,