Annoying phone calls

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by eshreve1234, Apr 8, 2004.

1. eshreve1234

eshreve1234 LawnSite Member

This is my first year with any type of advertising budget. I had some door hangers printed up at a local printer, and they had the perforation at the bottom for a tear off card. On this card estimates was spelled estimated. Well the printer gave me a break on the price and I figured why not still use them. So last night I get a call from a guy who just wants to correct my spelling, and "would never pay to have his lawn done". I treated him politely, but I am still annoyed by this. Is this the norm? Thanks,

Eric

2. mbricker

mbricker LawnSite Senior Member

Eric, I think you might have stumbled on the ideal way to screen out potential PITA customers. I may do something like this on my next advertising.

Congratulations on this breakthrough!

3. BRIAN GALLO

BRIAN GALLO LawnSite Senior Member

Eric,

That sounds like you just got some know-it-all who wanted to flaunt his "infinite wisdom" on you. If you would have stayed on the line I'm sure he would have told you your equipment was junk and that he could run things better too. You'll get some legitimate calls so hang in there. However, you'll encounter some of these types when you are out cutting - I call it the know-it-all neighbor syndrome.

4. Norm Al

Norm Al LawnSite Bronze Member

seems like you intruded on his life with your door hanger,,,,why is he annoying you by replying?

5. Davis Lawn Mowing LLC.

Davis Lawn Mowing LLC. LawnSite Member