1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Another flyer question (sorry)

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by T.Heck, Feb 21, 2006.

1. T.Heck

T.Heck LawnSite Member

Just a simple run thru of must do and dont?

Also would a 50% one cut be a good coupon to put on one? I would have to put can only be used after 5 cuts.... becuase im starting out and cant afford to lose money.
  2. robbs99

robbs99 LawnSite Member

T. Heck,

I'm new to this business, but, I will never sell my service short of a dollar. If people dont like my prices, then i'll go somewhere else. That's 20 or 30 dollars that can go to new equitment, taxes, or insurance!
  3. cwlawley

cwlawley LawnSite Senior Member

Coupons are not a bad thing necessaily. Some of the people on this site disagree but who cares. If you can afford to do it then it may draw in additional customers. I wouldn't offer 50% off after five mows though. I would either offer 50% off first mow or "sign a yearly contract and get 50% off your first mow".

Just my two cents.
  4. westwind

westwind LawnSite Senior Member

percentage coupons do work, for the first season. Never under-cut your prices, and you will still make money. I would only offer a "deal" to get new clients to a new business. JMO.
  5. T.Heck

T.Heck LawnSite Member

I might have wored it wrong..... I would like to give them 50% off there first cut but i dont want them booking. Thats why i would want to give them one 50% coupon they could use anytime they want toward one cut after they been around and paid for 5 cuts. :)
  6. LB1234

LB1234 LawnSite Gold Member

Not to be harsh...but if the people don't know your prices from the getgo, how do they know they are really getting that 10% off of mulch?
  7. T.Heck

T.Heck LawnSite Member

Im sorry im lost :confused: