Another partnership question...

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Bones, Dec 17, 2002.

1. Bones

Bones LawnSite Member

So I did a search and have been reading the board all about partnerships and how nasty and evil they are. Most stay to steer clear and I can understand that. I thought I might offer up my situation and see what kind of advice I can get.

My current situation is that I'm currently a full-time engineer. THe job is ok, but I'm not sure I want to do this for the rest of my life. As one moves towards management, the hours get worse and worse as well!

So I have been kicking around the idea of starting a LCO for a LONG time. It just happened that my Brother In-Law was kicking around the same idea as he just sold his company and was looking for something to do.

My Brother In-Law owned and operated his own business where he did marketing, sales and everthing else. The field he was in has been struggling so he sold the company to his employees. He recently went back to school and is working on a business degree very part time while he works a new FT job.

He brought up the idea of us getting together on this venture. We both would like to work it part time, at least for a few years. He has a 16 year old son who would work for us along with my 16 year old brother.

What makes this partnership attractive to me is my Brother in law's business experience. He's owned his own company and knows what it takes to make it work. He is VERY good at dealing with people and would be good at closing deals. I've got NO experience with running a small business, the costs involved, insurance, tax issues.. none of it.

One other benifit is that I'm thinking a partnership would help keep each of us motivated.