Another push mower question?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Soupy, May 8, 2003.

1. Soupy

Soupy LawnSite Gold Member

A friend of mine does about 10 yards a week (around 6 hours). He has been using a Gold series Lawn Boy. He is starting to have problems with the drive system.

The question I have is what would be his best option for around $500? He has been looking at Toro, Honda and Lawn Boy. I told him that Toro would be my choice. He said he likes the Honda because of the blade set up. He wants to hear from people that have used these mowers and to recommend a model in his price range. He might splurge for a higher price if it will be well worth it.

By the way he really likes his Lawn Boy because it is a 2 cycle. But he hasn't been real happy with the cut.

I know I could search but After I get some replies I will print this thread and give it to him.

Thanks,
    Soupy

2. contra

contra LawnSite Member

i have a lot of experience with these types of mowers. for around 500 you cant get any of the really fast hondas, but they still cut great. i never had any engine problems but the wheels are awful. they wore down so incredibly fast, and even after i replaced them, they fell off! The toros cut great but i would watch out around hills you might get some nasty engine problems if its too steep. I would go with a toro and use a 2 cycle lawn boy around the steep parts

3. fblandscape

fblandscape Banned

Big fan of the Honda's here. I was at Home Depot the other day and saw that they came out with a push mower with caster wheels. Could be interesting.

4. Soupy

Thanks for the replies guys, keep them coming.

By the way, I know this subject has been beat to death, But I just want something personalized for him that I can print out.

I don't have much use for a push mower, But I told him if I was in the market I would give a close look at the Toro's. I just think his Lawn Boy cuts like ****. Maybe it's because he cuts in third gear.