another rookie ?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by chris25, Nov 20, 2004.

1. chris25

chris25 LawnSite Member

Hey guys im new at this siste and i been reading through threads and has been alot of help with pricing and such. Well one question here goes; this past year i picked up a few lawn accounts for some old folks in the neighbor hood and soem of the houses i have been using there equipment wich was nice cause all i currently have is a push mower. well the question is i want to puchase a new mower for the next up comming season and im undecided if i should go and spend the money and buy me a walkbehind or just like a snapper self propel. Im just doing redidential currently and don't neeed anything huge probaly a 32inch would be nice in the walkbehind but i have been pricing them and there up to like $2500.00 for a decent walkbehind compared to 500 for a regular mower. so anyway i would like some advice for the mower purchace what do you guys think i should do spend the money or start out small? ty for all replys
  2. BryPaulD

BryPaulD LawnSite Senior Member
    from MI

Welcome, and ya gotta spend money to make money. Get a 36"
  3. paponte

paponte LawnSite Silver Member

You buy machinery based on your needs, not because you want it. What size properties? Will a larger machine same you time? or be too bulky for your needs? Can you afford new at this time? or is used the better way to go. Don't go and overspend, always have your equipment work for you. Never work for your equipment. :)
  4. Green Care

Green Care LawnSite Senior Member

How big are the houses or how long do it take you?

I would buy a used wb around 800.00 until I needed something else in stead of 2500.00.
  5. Mo Green

Mo Green LawnSite Bronze Member

Exactly. Spend the money and you will be so glad that you did. You will be able to cut so much faster. I would also go with the 36". Shop around, you'll find a good deal.
  6. BryPaulD

BryPaulD LawnSite Senior Member
    from MI