Anthing positive?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Braxton, Apr 30, 2005.

1. Braxton

Braxton LawnSite Member
    from TN

I'm in my first year here, and off to a slow start. Little capital, working my full-time job, etc.

I've read some negative stuff out there, and I'm feeling a bit discouraged. I have only four accounts, and only one that's really good. I have done quite a bit of landscaping, but underbid out of ignorance a few times, but I'm learning.

So, what can you tell a new guy that's positive? Any success stories from guys like me? Is this a good business to try to build, or have I just made a huge mistake.

Braxton

2. HOOLIE

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member

Well it's still early in the season, Braxton, lots of season left. I haven't had a very good response from my advertising this season either, but I've gotten a lot of referrals so far. Very few new accounts thru flyering.

New business seems to come in waves for me, I won't get many calls for a week, then all of a sudden I'll get a bunch of calls on one day. Make sure your existing customers are aware you are looking for new clients, give them some extra business cards to give to neighbors and friends.

And just stick with it, good luck.

3. wormburner

wormburner LawnSite Member

Hang in there I'm sure it will come around.I to am off to a late start because I didnt have all my paper work together early enough.I thought a month would be early enough but not the case it took three weeks just to get my business name registered and now I can apply for the rest of my license to start.I just hope to get a few accounts this year and hit it hard next year early!Dont give up soon you can punch your own time clock.Just remember a bad day working for yourself is better than a good day working for an a-hole.

4. premiereman

premiereman LawnSite Member