1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Anti-siphon valve vs. Inline valve

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by Pecker, Sep 19, 2005.

1. Pecker

Pecker LawnSite Bronze Member

Hi what's up! Searching didn't help much because alot of the lingo went over my head because I'm not a pro. I'm building a sprinkler system for my house. Plans have been drawn up by Rainbird. I have a few simple questions before I start:

1. I'd like to use inline valves because it would look much nicer to conceal the valves in a box in the ground. But the valves that go above ground (the anti-siphon valves) have the anti-siphon feature. I gather that the anti-siphon device prevents contamination into my house line via backflow. Is that correct?

2. Could I just use inline valves and use a backflow preventer instead of anti-siphon valves? What does a backflow preventer look like? Home Depot didn't have any on the shelf - where would I buy one? Where would I mount it in the system?

3. Using inline valves, how to you connect them so that you can take replace a valve if it breaks. . .is there a way to set it up so you can unscrew the pipe from the valve or something so its not so permanent?

4. Lastly, I live in northwest Louisiana and it doesn't snow or ice up here but about every couple years at best, but it does get in the upper 20's oftentimes. Do I need to install drain valves or even worry about the pipes breaking since they will be below the soil?

I know this is lots of questions. To make it easier, just type the number your responding to if it will help. Thanks a million in advance!
  2. Planter

Planter LawnSite Member
    from Utah

1. Yes, That is correct.