Any advice? Getting into the biz...

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by TGMC, Feb 22, 2002.

1. TGMC

TGMC LawnSite Member

Okay, I'm a bored software engineer... One day I looked outside and seen these guys smileing and laughing as they mowed our lawn...

After about two months, I bought a trailer. Then, I know a guy that buys and fixes lawn mowers, I bought a mower w/ a 72in cutting deck. Then got on eBay and bought an echo back pack blower. (and so on...)

I would just like some advice or useful hints to get started.

PS. I still have my day job!

2. RaleighGuru

RaleighGuru LawnSite Member

TGMC, I would recommend using the search function as you will find lots of information. When you have exhausted that, come back and ask specific questions. I have not been reading here long, but I do know that you wont get much help with a generic question that has been answered a hundred times.

Good luck! I am in a similar position and thinking of doing the same.

3. grebwv

grebwv LawnSite Member

Hey TGMC,

I am doing the same thing. Drop a note to my email and let's see what we are thinking.

I backed into this idea and now it is kind of grown way beyond what I meant to start!

Regards,

William
    grebwv@hotmail.com

4. stslawncare

stslawncare LawnSite Bronze Member
    from DE

hey, welcome to lawnsite.com, you have come to a great place. what size trailer did u get? what brand is the mower? do u have any other mowers? i reccamend u get a smaller one or two also. how about a truck? do u have any lawns yet?

Most of all i agree with the other guy, do a search, u will find all your answers, anything u dont see please ask away!!!

5. TGMC

TGMC LawnSite Member

I have a 12 ft X 6 1/2 ft trailer, a full size Dodge 1 ton. The mower is a Toro GroundsMaster(?) not too sure of the name... I have one commercial acct. that I will start doing in March. On the weekends of course...

6. stslawncare

stslawncare LawnSite Bronze Member
    from DE