any advice would be nice

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Shanes Turn, Jul 26, 2007.

1. Shanes Turn

Shanes Turn LawnSite Member

Hello everyone
    I would like to say I wish I had found this site along time ago. This is my first post but I have learned so much in the last month as a reader Great Site keep up the good work. I have been doing this for about 10 yrs now I love this field but 10 yrs is long enough to know that you cant make any money unless you are the man. I just got a loan for $25000 to start up my own bizz.
    I have a 83 chevy 1500, 16 ft opentrailer and a pressure washer. I live in a townhouse with no where to store my equipment. the is a lot across the street $85 a month buys me a parking space. I would like to be mostly commercial but I know that will take some time. I believe in looking as prof. as possible so uniforms clean cut that sort of thing but I am a realist in that not everthing works out the way we see them. I guess my Qs are more on how would you spend that money if you where in my place looking to go comercial but knowing that fall is coming soon "leaf removal,aeration,seeding".
    I think leafs would be the easiest way to get my foot in the door (around me).
    I thankyou all for any insight that u might have on anthing related to my story.

PS I really like Exmark, Stihle, and Echo equipment

2. BQLC

BQLC LawnSite Senior Member

Good luck that is a big loan to start out with in my opinion I hope it works out for you

3. Shanes Turn

its only going to cost 400 a month

4. mdlwn1

mdlwn1 LawnSite Silver Member

1. Enclosed trailer...(no shop needed)
    2. Don't spend the money....let it sit there and your market will tell you
    how and where to spend it.
    3. If you only have 3-4 aerate..rent.
    4. Build the sides of your truck as high as you can with lumber for leaves.
    5. It doesn't matter how good or smart you are.....cash flow management is
    EVERYTHING!

5. Shanes Turn