Any Ideas?

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by patmorrissey72, Dec 26, 2005.

1. patmorrissey72

patmorrissey72 LawnSite Member

So I've worked in landscaping since I was a sophomore in highschool. I continued to work my way through college as a foreman in the summers, and part time during the school year. I've done a little bit of everything, including hardscapes, pavers, mowing. The company that I worked for the past year did mostly irrigation systems, so I am fairly new to the whole deal. I graduated college this past December with a degree in finance and accounting. The problem is that I really love working outdoors and with my hands, and don't see myself sitting behind a desk all day. I would really like to get into the landscaping business myself, working more in irrigation. Is there any advice that veterans may have. I was also wondering if anyone has taken any good classes, read any good books, or knows of any good sites out there involving the design and installation of irrigation systems. Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

2. Wet_Boots

Wet_Boots LawnSite Fanatic

The best designs and installations come from the guys that have done sprinkler system repairs, and know what not to do on new installs. You have a better chance staying out in the field as a service guy, than as an installer, if it's the field work that you want. If you find someone hiring service help, you can gain useful knowledge on someone else's dime.

3. hoskm01

hoskm01 LawnSite Fanatic