Any tips on bidding for a HOA

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Uranus, Apr 2, 2008.

1. Uranus

Uranus LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Mass

I'm looking for some useful tips to help me come up with some number for some condos that I'm bidding on. This is my first time dealing with a HOA. I've worked for many apartment complexes and condos before. Only thing is I was a laborer for another LCO at the time. I know through my source that this place has a hard time getting LCOs to bid on their property because of its location. They also are willing to drop last year LCO if they can get some bids that are reasonable. They are looking for SC, FC, mowing, trimming, and mulch. 80 yards by my calculations.

Just looking for some tips on how to guarantee that I have a shot at getting into this place and still turn a profit.

2. Pristine PM

Pristine PM LawnSite Member

How many months is the contract? Do you get snow where you are?

3. Uranus

from Mass

Till the end of 2008 season. Yes we get snow. I dont want the plowing.

4. pinto n mwr

pinto n mwr LawnSite Senior Member
    from gr8, mn

first step is to keep the mulch out of the monthly bid, bill it seperate. you may only make the same money that you would've if you were to include it, but if unforseen issues come along then you would've wished it was seperate.

As far as bidding the property, can't give out secrets but knows your costs, know your mowing rate.

I know three owners of LCO's that just get a unit count, drive thru the complex one time and get a per unit cost. Some how their price is competitive and profitable. Have know idea how they do it, but they do.

5. SOMM

SOMM LawnSite Senior Member

HOA's are 50%-Plaaaayazz , always remember that !
    They luv to play you against imaginary-bids of nobody's - with zero documentation. Bigtime "pucker-factor" with HOA's, so get prepared to place your helmet under your jewels as your chopper ascends - here goes: