anybody have trouble with arbor green fert?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by kickin sum grass, Oct 19, 2004.

1. kickin sum grass

kickin sum grass LawnSite Senior Member

Today I used the arbor green fert from lesco for deep root injections. I kept it agitated before, during, and after treatment. The only time I didn't have it agitated was when driving which no time was more than 5 minutes. By 2:00 today the stuff plugged my sprayed up tight. Luckly I was down to the last few gallons. I had to come back and back flush the system as it was like a sludge in the hoses. When I looked in the bottom of the tank, it had a layer of fert that had settled out.

Has anybody had trouble with this stuff? Is there something to add to it to hold suspension? Or what products are you guys using for deep root feeding?

This is my first year doing deep root injections and was told this was the mac daddy of ferts for this. Of the 30%N, 20% is water insoluable so I figured that the 20% was what was on the bottom of the tank. OH, I was mixing for the 1 year feed at 20lbs/ 100gal water.

2. grassguy_

grassguy_ LawnSite Senior Member
    from Ohio

Which do you have paddle or jet agitation? Usually paddle is best simply because of the constant mixing more than jet. I wouldn't use arbor green in jet agitation, not saying it can't be done, just that the paddle suspends the material much better. I used arbor green in the past mixed with urea for deep root feeding, but mixed only for the day as well because of the same problem however there was less a problem when mixed with urea as opposed to only using arbor green.

3. kickin sum grass

kickin sum grass LawnSite Senior Member

I have jet agitation. It says to mix at the one year mix only for jets so I assumed it would be ok.