Anyone ever hurt a pet?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by LawnTamer, Apr 29, 2006.

1. LawnTamer

LawnTamer LawnSite Gold Member

I have often wondered if anything we use could really harm a cat/dog. We always tell people to keep pets off till the lawn is dry, but I couldn't tell ya'll how many times I've had homeowners let pets out while I'm still there, (usually the kids let them out.)
    I've never had a problem, but I was wondering if anyone else had.
  2. upidstay

upidstay LawnSite Bronze Member
    from CT

I had a customer with a dog who died on her a few years ago. I had been fertilizing her lawn for 3 years, the company for 15 years prior to that. The dog was a puppy when we started. It died of extreme old age at 18.
    The only time I ever "hurt" a pet was with, of all things, grass seed. The dog used to like to follow me around and snap at the stuff that was coming out of the sreader (found this out wit the seed, never ate any fert). It got a seed in the eye while I was overseeding, and they had to take it to the vet to have it flushed out. Exceptionally stupid dog. It also had to go to the vet to have a TV remote surgically removed from its stomach...
  3. lawnservice

lawnservice LawnSite Senior Member

i stepped on a dog's tail once

but i guess that dont count?
  4. olive123

olive123 LawnSite Senior Member

rat bait will do it...
  5. ArkansasLawns

ArkansasLawns LawnSite Member

Got a lady's dog that loves my blower. I tried to keep from blowing directly at the dog but she would run around in front of the blower and try to eat the wind. Finally I just stopped moving and the dog almost bit the end off the blower all the while her lips were flying out, tongue whipping around and ears a flopping. Guess she just likes the wind in her face. Maybe its better than sticking her head out a moving truck.

Did't hurt her and she keeps it up week after week.