Anyone ever plowed with a 2wd truck?

Discussion in '<a href=http://www.plowsite.com target=_blank ?>Sn' started by Rcgm, Jan 8, 2001.

1. Rcgm

Rcgm LawnSite Senior Member
    from Indiana

I got a buddy who plows with a f150 2wd truck and a snobear winch snow plow.Gotta admit seen this truck go thru 6 inches so far.Anyone else ever seen this?

2. bluebyu62

bluebyu62 LawnSite Member

i have a lot of experience with 2 wd plowing. I have a 86 f350 2 wd 12' dumping stake body with an 8' western , i only use it in a flat parking lot and never had a problem. does not always need weight but that would be exra security. As far as pickups, i have 2 85 gmc's, both 4 wd, but when plowing my large lot, i just leave them in 2 wd. Only time i use 4 wd is when i am out on unplowed roads and what not. I also have a 72 chevy pickup with a 7.5' plow and a 2 yard salter which adds plenty of weight and that has never gotten stuck yet!! point is - for an f 150, just make sure you have some weight in the back, and be smart about where you take your vehicle. Carry a cell phone also.

3. plow kid

plow kid Banned

i have a 2 wheel drive dakota that has snoway mounts and i keep it as a back up but it dosent like anything over
    4 inches, if you are windroing(sp?) it can take half a blades width 7.5 as long as you get going before you start the blade into the snow, also 1/2 ton of firewood helps alot
    andersons sells snowbear plows, they only recomend them for light personal use, they cant be too heavy duty if they can be put on a caravan...lol

4. Rcgm

Rcgm LawnSite Senior Member
    from Indiana

Hey I plow with a 90 dakota 4x4.I just think it is funny how all these guys stop him and say where did you buy that plow and does it work and also is that 2wd.He says yes kinda embaressed but hey he is laughing when those bank lot checks are coming in.

5. Kent Lawns

Kent Lawns LawnSite Senior Member
    from Midwest

A 2WD truck will plow over 2 feet of snow, easily.