1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

anyone have advice to using a sod cutter

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by grassman177, Apr 3, 2008.

1. grassman177

grassman177 LawnSite Fanatic

i have a perfect lawn i have been managing for about 3 years now, rather new and the water line backfill has finally sunk it to a nice 10-15 ft radius sink hole with no drastic drop off. i want to cut the sod, fill with soil and they relay the sod so it will match perfect and no problems with weeds over the summer from dirt and seed fill solution.

any tips or suggestions for using a sod cutter to tackle this. i would rent one and want tot cut the sod at 1.25 to 1.5 inch i would guess. thanks all, i have never run on of these machines at all. i dont know the brand so i cant help you there. maybe it is a no brainer after running so many different types of equipment but i thought i would ask
  2. PSUturf

PSUturf LawnSite Senior Member

Ryan, Brower, and Turfco are good machines. Stay away from Bluebird unless you are cutting an area that is flat as a pancake. You describe the area to be cut as a round area. Cut an area that is square shaped, large enough to include the circular depression. I would recommend mowing the lawn before sod cutting so that it is easier to see where you have cut.