Anyone here mow for the city?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by packerbacker, Apr 10, 2005.

1. packerbacker

packerbacker LawnSite Bronze Member

Just curious if anyone here is contracted by the city to do any mowing for them? If so how did you get in with them and is it a good idea?

2. CamLand

CamLand LawnSite Bronze Member

I've been cutting municipal for about 5 years I got in by doing an sealed bid and landed the job.I wasn't the cheapest but I landed it on my reputation in the community.I feel it is well worth your time to check into it...

3. packerbacker

Did you contact the city? And if so what branch?

4. CamLand

I found the bid by checking the local paper.The cities are somewhat small around us and each has it's own paper.So I have subscription to a select few and just looked for Sealed bid requests...

5. packerbacker

Cool, thanks for the help. I notice bids all the time but they are mainly for construction related contractors. But ill keep my eyes open for mowing. thank you.

6. jims lawn service

jims lawn service LawnSite Member
    from midwest

Packer, I have a cotract with a large county.I bid on the contract through the county website.It was a sealed bid process.We do all the code violations which came to over 600 cuts last year.Is it a good idea?I will say Im doing it again this year but,we tear up our equipment occasionally and we go into the worst neighborhoods in the county.We had a run in with some of the neighborhood thugs last year and I did a dumb thing and got into a confrontation with them and they pulled out a pistol.I learned from that to: just do what we are there to do and keep my mouth shut and I am armed now myself. The violations are over 2.5 ft tall usually, sometimes less ,always over 8"(thats the height to be in violation ).It is different from the normal lawn customers but it is interesting.

7. CamLand