Anyone here using a mask?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by stressed, Jul 21, 2008.

1. stressed

stressed LawnSite Member

Ive been spraying lawns for 15 years.I was hand spraying back when we had diaznon..oh how i miss that stuff.It was cheap and very effective.Anyway ive always had family members and customers kind of get on me about wearing a mask.But last week i had a long time customer tell me that if i dont wear a mask she doesnt want me treating her lawn.And she said the expensive cannister mask not just a paper.Ive tried these in the past and i cant hardly breath in them.Does anyone here wear masks because where im from i see no one wearing them.

2. Bluelude1

Bluelude1 LawnSite Member

I don't do a lot of pesticide or herbicide spraying, but any time I am working with something I know isn't favorable for my lungs I wear one. I actually have a 3M full face mask that has the built in lense to prevent anything from getting in my eyes as well. Its a little more costly, but I find that it seals considerably better than just the inexpensive half face respirators that just cover your nose and mouth. The being because it seals around the edges of your face where the other masks tend to leak where your nose meets your cheek (look at a painter after he just sprayed a room & the takes the half face mask takes it off) and is far more comfortable as well. Also works great for mowing dusty areas or leaves in the fall.

All though you do look like you are prepping for biological warfare (With certain filtration canisters I do actually believe it is approved for such) I wouldn't ever go back to the other style even on a hot day.

[​IMG]

3. stressed

stressed LawnSite Member

If it only had airconditioning in it

4. nik

nik LawnSite Member

Most turf products don't require there use.
    The label, as always, will tell you if you need it.