Anyone looking to Benefit from the Affordable Care Act

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by lawnsaspire, Mar 23, 2013.

1. lawnsaspire

lawnsaspire LawnSite Bronze Member

I am a solo lawncare operator and have limited health coverage for just my two kids. My wife is a stay at home mother. It has worked out well so far except that my wife and I are without health insurance. We are both in good health so we've taken the chance of not buying a policy as the premiums and deductables are so high as you are aware. Without starting a political discussion or an argument for or against President Obama, I was just wondering if anyone with similar circumstances is looking forward to getting some insurance under the act next year. I've used an online calcuator and it would be fairly priced for my income bracket if they are using the right figures. Just curious if anyone else is in a similar posiition. Thanks.

2. 205mx

205mx LawnSite Silver Member

Are you simply planning to pay the fee?

3. lawnsaspire

lawnsaspire LawnSite Bronze Member

no id like to purchase the coverage it provides at the local exchange
    Posted via Mobile Device

4. New2TheGreenIndustry

New2TheGreenIndustry LawnSite Senior Member
    from GA

Just out of curiosity, what are your expected premiums from the exchange vs private company?

5. Daily Lawn/Landscape

Daily Lawn/Landscape LawnSite Senior Member

First off, your crazy for not having health insurance. Not to bash, but to say, you are healthy so you don't need it is ridiculous. I, myself am very healthy and do exercise some. But 2 years ago, June I had an emergency appendectomy. No warning sign of anything wrong with my appendix. Had an attach on a Saturday evening, thought it was food poisoning. Monday, I was at the emergency room and within 2 hrs, I was in emergency surgery. That operation cost my insurance over $23K. Had I not had insurance, it would have been all on me. For God's sake, get insurance.

6. grassmasterswilson