Anyone Out there in Kentucky???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by chrisk, May 8, 2002.

1. chrisk

chrisk LawnSite Member

I am looking for someone in Kentucky that might help answer some questions for me.
    I have been mowing 4 yards now for about 6 years. I make $160
    per week on these yards. I am wanting to add more customers and try and make a living doing this. Anyone out there from Ky that can tell me how to get everything legal??
    How do I get licensed, what insurance do I need, and anything I might need .
    Thanks in advance.

I'm new to this board and have found it to be a great place to learn. Thank you
  2. swn

swn LawnSite Member

What part of KY are you from? I talked to a CPA and she got me the papers to fill out. I don't remember what all it was, but not a lot. A CPA could help you with everything you would need.

Check with the place you have your truck insurance or house insurance. It is not very much for the year and I would not be without it.
  3. chrisk

chrisk LawnSite Member

I'm in Shepherdsville. I am 20 minutes from Louisville, 20 minutes from E-Town, 20 minutes from Bardstown, and 20 minutes from Mt. Washington.
    I am fairly sure that being that close to that many big areas I should be able to stay busy.
    Thanks for the reply!
  4. Pro-Cut Lawns

Pro-Cut Lawns LawnSite Member

Welcome Chrisk
    I am about 85 miles out of Louisville. As already posted, I let a CPA take care of mine. He got me set up with everything I needed to be legit and does my taxes yearly. (I mow his property too...LOL). As far as insurance, I did call around various places and ended up getting mine where my vehicles and home are insured. A couple of places said the only way they would write my liability was to move ALL my insurance over to them...yeah right!!!!