1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Anyone partner with a company the only does certain services?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by AGG Lawn Maintenance, Oct 10, 2002.

1. AGG Lawn Maintenance

AGG Lawn Maintenance LawnSite Senior Member
    from Elberon

Does anyone partner with a company that only does sprinklers or chemicals? I was thinking about hooking up with a company that only does landscaping. We mainly maintain landscapes and lawns. They do tons of commercial work. We do Res. and commercial work. I am looking to do more commercial work. I have been doing this for about 15 years now. I have the mowers and good help. Why am I not doing tons of commercial work now?Well my bids are higher then the other guys most of the time. You konw how the business is cut throat. I figure after they do the landscaping we would have a foot in to bid the lawn maintenance. Sometimes its who you know.
  2. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

We partner with a firm that does a lot of work with pavers, rail road ties for rock gardens, padios, outdoor lighting, etc. It has worked well for us.
  3. I have a project going with anoher LCO for doing snow, and ice control.

I have a few I do lawn applications for that are out of my area.

This is how you grow your biz without the initial expence.

I used to do a lot of mowing for a maint. biz who did not mow, but did the rest, I helped him build up close to $5k worth of mowng a week, and whamo he started his own mowing crew the begining of last year.
  4. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

I work very closely with a spray company here. Its been a win-win situation for both of us. But, we are 2 separete companies. No partnership.
  5. anythinglawns

anythinglawns LawnSite Member