1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Anyone recomend a Honda 21" walkbehind?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by erhager, Jan 8, 2008.

1. erhager

erhager LawnSite Member

Needing to know if the 21" Honda commercial series mowers are worth a darn. I havent used one and need to get a new commercial walkbehind. Have any opinions?
  2. LawnTamer

LawnTamer LawnSite Gold Member

Yes, they are very good machines, though for the money, I recommend the Toro 21 commercial, the drive system is more rugged and simple than the Honda's, I also prefer the faster speed and the handle configuration. But the Honda is a good machine, well built and recycles well.

TNT MOWING LawnSite Member

I have been running a honda home series for the past three years and i have run this commercialy for 5 hours a week plus my father ran it for 7 years before that on our lawn that takes an hour to cut I think honda is a good little 21
  4. jklawns

jklawns LawnSite Member

I run the new honda commercial with the double blades and it does a fantastic job. I have run a toro commercial 21 but I didnt like the cut that much it was not as great as the Honda. The only issue I have with the honda is the rear discharge but I mostly bag and mulch my yards so it is not that big of a deal. The new Honda's are deffinily worth the money and the wight is not that big of a deal.
  5. lawnpro724

lawnpro724 LawnSite Silver Member

I have run both Honda and Toro commercial mowers over the years and there both good mowers and will last a very long time with regular maintenance. I prefer Toro's proline 21" for my crew since they seem to take a lot of abuse and use and keep on going. Toro's design is simple and rugged, I have learned over the years simple is better.
  6. saw man

saw man LawnSite Bronze Member
    from utah