1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Anyone use PDA's here?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Freddy_Kruger, May 16, 2006.

1. Freddy_Kruger

Freddy_Kruger LawnSite Bronze Member

I'm just wondering how suseptable they are to dust from mowing. I just bought a new one ($500) and the bottom sync slit is open to the elements. I bought one of these ROOTS leather belt clips for protection but even it has a hole at the bottom where that sync slit is.
  2. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

I use a Palm for many functions, but it always stays in my briefcase in the truck. I see no reason to take it with me while working.
  3. macaw

macaw LawnSite Senior Member

I have been using one for 3 years. I'm on my second one it stays in the truck most of the time in the summer grass,dust will get in the truck never have had any problem with dust or anything else it is in a case.

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

I have 2 cells, one is a XV6700 with the slide out keyboard and about 4 open ports. If I am in the field the phones stay in the truck.
    1st I am never away from the truck or car more than a half hour- But more important, I have cell phones for my convenience, not anybody else's. (read that I am not a slave to the phone)
  5. rustyb265

rustyb265 LawnSite Member

I was actually just thinking today that I may try a PDA. My wife has one that she never uses and I think I could use it for my scheduling. Lawn care is my part time job and with my full time job everything gets bery hecktic. Never thought about the dust though. Guess I will leave it in the truck. It would be nice though just to have it with you so you can look quick and tell a customer when you can do their job. Guess I will play it by ear.
  6. T. Wheeler

T. Wheeler LawnSite Member